Love, Brie
Seriously Single
Untangling dating patterns and choosing myself
0:00
-1:06:24

Untangling dating patterns and choosing myself

My most vulnerable episode yet!

So, if you might recall, I recently launched a new podcast called SERIOUSLY SINGLE.

Because I’m SERIOUSLY SINGLE, you guys.

Anyway. Deciding and then launching the thing has been a big moment for me. Mostly because I’ve chosen to embrace my long-standing singlehood and have seized this time in my life to use it as an opportunity to connect with other women like me, or say the things we’ve wanted to say but maybe have felt shamed around because, you know, patriarchy and all that.

In this episode #4, I admit something that has been a long time coming.

In the words of Taylor Swift: I’M THE PROBLEM IT’S ME!

Okay, so maybe I am not the entire problem when it comes to my dating history (it does take two to tango) BUT confronting and witnessing and untangling my dating patterns, including acknowledging that I’ve been dating the same type of “avoidant” man over and over, and understanding why I do has been incredibly healing and transformative for me. So much so that I ended basically a two-decade long situationship with one of the big loves of my life because of it.

I chose me.

I’ve decided to share this entire episode here. In it, I speak with my guest, Dr. Karin Luise, an award-winning therapist and spiritual medium, about what it takes to untangle our toxic dating patterns and learning how to choose ourselves no matter how scary and sad it might be to end the relationship we know has to end.

I discuss ending my recent situationship with my ex and the tools I've used to let go and heal and forgive him and myself. Karin also shares her dating history and how she's been able to find her "zen" and *finally* feel good about being single after a slew of toxic relationships.

I think it’s the most vulnerable I’ve ever been on a podcast — maybe in any sort of expression (although talking about pooping on vacation with another boyfriend might take the cake). At any rate, I am very proud of this episode, I am very stoked about this podcast, and if you take the time to listen, that would make my day!

And if you like what you hear, what would make my WEEK, is if you could share, subscribe, and rate the podcast on Spotify and Apple. Doing so really does help indie podcasts like me find some traction and gain more listeners — the listeners who could find solace and inspiration from a podcast like mine.

You know, the SERIOUSLY SINGLE folks.

Thank you, love you.

Brie

0 Comments
Love, Brie
Seriously Single
These are some of my favourite episodes from my podcast, Seriously Single. Available on Spotify and Apple.
Seriously Single is the show that dives into everything that's amazing about being single, and even the stuff that's not amazing about being single. From dating to finances to sex to traveling solo and living alone, and everything in between, we're going to get into it. No more sadness, shame or stigma! It's time to embrace being single!
So, let's go! It's time to seriously talk about being single.
Have an idea for a topic you'd like to hear discussed on the show? Are you single and would like to apply to be a guest? Please email: seriouslysinglepodcast@gmail.com